David C. Marriott Award

The David C. Marriott Award is given annually to the outstanding debater in the parliament.  David Marriott was a member of the 51 - 57 Sessions, and was premier of the 57th Session.  He was also the Speaker of the 60th Session, the Speaker of the first Western Canada Youth Parliament, and has served as Lieutenant Governor of both WCYP and TUXIS.  He was the Chair of the Alumni Society from 1983 - 1987, and then served as C.R.O from 1988 - 1992.  He has been the Executive Director of the Alumni Society since 2005.  Both in parliament and in his professional life, David has been a strong believer in the importance of logical thought and persuasive argument. To honour his work with the TUXIS Parliament, the Alumni Society created the David C. Marriott Award in his honour in 2007, to be given annually to the Parliamentarian who demonstrates the skills that David exemplified.

Past recipients include: 

Willingly and cheerfully doing more than that which is our duty to do.
About Us